Start saving all your Google Plus photos and files before it’s too late. Google + is in the minus and will be shutting down.

Google’s announcement to shut down the service came on the heels of low usership, and a bug that affected its API after a software update back in November. Because of the bug, the shutdown was expedited. Google+ never really picked up enough popularity either, so Google execs have decided they don’t see a long term path where it can be successful. If you’re asking yourself, “Wait, what’s Google +?” That’s why. Google is giving it’s official goodbye to Google+ on April 2nd.

That means once shutdown, all content will be deleted. If you have everything backed up in Google Photos, then no need to worry, you’ll still have access to that. The phase out of Google+ is already happening, which means nobody can create a new profile as we speak. To get your photos and files backed up, contact us.

The process of deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts, Google+ Pages, and Album Archive will take a few months, so you still might see parts of your account in your activity log, and G Suite users will likely still see content until Google+ is officially removed.